Skip to content

Melanie Phillips’ Homophobic Rant

July 6, 2009

I wasn’t expecting much from a Melanie Phillips article titled “Hooray! The Tories are backing marriage – but they’re wrong to pretend that all relationships are equal”, but nevertheless I braced myself and dived in.

After the first few paragraphs inevitabley trundle on about how the breakdown of ‘tradional family life’ is the root of all evil in society, paragraphs at which she scorns at “deliberate attempts” by  ‘progresseives’  to give people more ‘equality’ and ‘rights’ (how very dare they!), my fears were realised when she casually dropped in:

The problem, however, is that his [David Cameron’s] intention to repair the family is undermined by his support for gay rights.

I knew it was going to be bad, but that’s just outright homophobic nonsense. And it gets worse:

The far more serious point, however, is that the gay rights agenda undermines marriage.

Because as everyone knows, gay people aren’t allowed to get married. Because they’re different and weird and they challenge the nice little right-wing fantasy world Melanie has dreamed up for herself.

And she goes on:

But is the gay rights agenda really about tolerance, or is it about trying to stop heterosexuality being the behavioural norm?

Aaaah! Gay people are trying to turn us all gay and cause the end of human civilisation! Burn them! Burn them!

To counter this nonsense I was going to write a lot about the nature of sexual preference, but since I can’t put it as nicely as The Angry Mob I’ll quote him instead:

[homosexuality is not] something we can be forced into or converted to by interacting with gay people, or by attending diversity or awareness sessions. Therefore, can it be concluded that as sexual preference is not a result of nurture, it must be the result of nature? This conclusion would mean that homosexuality is perfectly natural and must be biologically determined…

The point I am trying to make is that gay people are not making a choice about their sexuality anymore than a straight person is. What equality is trying to achieve is the freedom for a person to be comfortable with whatever biological attraction they are born with. The message that being a homosexual is normal is being delivered because as a society we do not want people wandering around suppressing their nature in fear that they will be victimised or ostracised for simply being who they are.

But, if Melanie were to accept this, it would mean that the hateful propaganda her newspaper has been publishing recently over David Cameron’s apology over Section 28 was wrong, and so this completely rational argument has been ignored.

And I was so looking forward to this week as well. The Ashes is starting on Wednesday, the weather is lovely and all was well – and then I wake up on Monday morning to this hateful bile. Well thanks Melanie, thanks for putting a dampner on my week. I almost didn’t have the willpower to point out how horrible this particular article actually was, and I’m sorry if I’ve spoilt the start to your week as well by pointing you in the direction of it, but national newspapers really shouldn’t be allowed to push this vile homophobic agenda.

So next time Melanie, if your going to go on another hate-filled, homophobic tirade, do you think you could publish it on a Friday evening when we’re all out? Or, better still, keep it to yourself.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 2:15 pm

    Cameron is dragging, kicking and screaming, his parties bigoted fan base into the 20th Century, although not the 21st.

    He should leave them to rot.

    • July 6, 2009 8:33 pm

      Unfortunately it’s not just the fan base, he’s still got MP’s in the party, such as Nadine Dorris and Anne Widdecombe, who are stuck in the 19th century and need kicking into the 21st.

  2. July 6, 2009 8:35 pm

    I’ll volunteer my boot!

  3. July 7, 2009 9:54 pm

    Thanks for the kind words. I like the style and layout of your blog a lot. I’m rather jealous now and want to do something radical to mine!

    P.S. I’ve given you a link and will plug you in the next relevant post I write. Us anti-Mailites need to stick together and get more coverage.

    • July 8, 2009 5:03 pm

      No problem, as I said above I don’t think I could have said it better myself. And thanks for the link/plugging as well, hopefully it might garner a bit more interest for the site.

      As for the layout of the blog itself, it’s one of the standard wordpress themes but I messed around with the colours a bit. Personally I like the way you’ve got the rotating quotes at the top of your blog, I find myself agreeing with most of them!

Leave a Reply

